Hall Of Fame

Auburn-Lewiston Sports Hall of Fame
Awards and Induction Banquet

200 Lost Valley Rd., Auburn - 5/01/11   social at noon

This year's A-L Sports Hall of Fame Awards and Induction Banquet will be held on Sunday, April 26, 2009, at Lost Valley Ski and Banquet Resort in Auburn.

Tickets are $30.00 each.

To purchase tickets by credit card, please click on the registration button below or stop by the Androscoggin County Chamber of Commerce, 415 Lisbon St., Lewiston during our business hours. M-Th 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. and Friday 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

When then Chamber Executive Bill Harkins searched for a new project back in 1983, he called together a group of past Chamber presidents to brain-storm ways in which they could use their past service and experience. Out of these discussions came the idea to memorialize the Twin Cities' rich sports history by organizing a Hall of Fame and holding an annual public event to recognize the accomplishments of individuals and teams that had brought athletic fame to the community.

As the committee researched local sports history, it soon became apparent that there were many persons who had received local, state, and even national recognition for their achievements. So, on March 2, 1983, the organization of the Auburn-Lewiston Sports Hall of Fame was created, with establishing of bylaws and method of electing permanent members adopted. The first awards banquet was held on March 30, 1984, at Lost Valley Lodge in Auburn.  From this beginning, which proved to be a popular success, an Induction and Awards Banquet has been held each year, with the 17th annual being presented this April 2000.

That first Awards Banquet inducted former Red Sox catcher-manager and baseball Hall of Famer Bill Carrigan, Olympian Pierre Legendre, hockey great Larry Charest former U.S. Ski Team coach John Bower, and legendary ELHS ski coach Linwood "Zeke" Dwelley.   Since then over 60 more persons have been added to the Hall of Fame induction roster, and the event has been expanded to include the Chamber President's Award for outstanding current achievement, and the "Flashback to Fame" Team Award to championship teams of the past.

Over the years the ALSHOF has become a major community activity of the Chamber. Many of the original group who started the project are still active and involved, and their historical background in local sports has been vital. Past Chamber President Malcolm Philbrook chaired the first stecring  committee and is still an active member of the Executive Committee, along with other veterans Tom Delahanty, Ralph Tuttle, Earl Austin, Dick Gibson, Mike DiRenzo, and Bob Pacios.

The Hall of Fame maintains a large collection of local sports memorabilia photographs, and publications at its archives which is located at the business offices of Pacios, Rausch & Co. in Auburn.

The ALSHOF welcomes additional nominations for induction, and inquiries for information and nomination forms should be sent as follows:

A-L Sports Hall of Fame
Ralph Tuttle, Secretary
Androscoggin County Chamber of Commerce
PO Box 59
Lewiston, ME 04243-0059




John Bower
Larry Charest
William Carrigan
Pierre LeGendre
Linwood Dwelley

Henry Shanahan
Ray Lebel
Harold White
Pat French
Richard Mcwilliams
"Lefty" Lachance
Norman Parent
Larry Gowell
Gail Liberty
John Libby
Walter Slovenski
Arthur Belliveau
Moses Nanigian
Robert Flynn
Bert Roberge
Pennie Page Cummings
Martha Page White
Gene Benner
Lawrence Hersom
William Leahey
Gerry Raymond
Paul Fortin
John Jenkins
Robert Hatch
Francis Parker
Karl Anderson
Dick Leavitt
Alton Bell
Thomas Upham
James Bouchles
Nathaniel Crowley
Bernard Marcus
Rudolph Smith
Thomas Auger
Kenneth Foisy
Stephen Grenda
William Provencher
Oliver Dufresne
William Joyce
Duane Nichols
Ralph Noel, Jr.
C. Ray Thompson
Roland Chalifoux
Frank Daunis
Gerard Delisle
Allen Harvie
Pennell Woodard
Joseph Boisvert
Norman Cummings
William Cummings
Michael DiRenzo
James Melvin
William Reynolds
Norm Davis
Peter Davis
Donia Girard
Russ Holland
Roger Pontbriand
Fernand Cloutier
Michael Coutts
Robert Kendall
Isadore Shapiro
Edmund Abbott
Royce Abbott
Paul Clifford
Richard Osgood
Jean Roy
Wally Leahey
Julie Parisien
William Simpson
Joseph Woodhead
Michael Berticelli
Joey Gamache
Robert A. Labbe
John Litchfield
Rodney Durgin
Aime Morin
Brian Sequin
John W. White

Arthur Blanchard
Richard A. Gibson
Raymond Sirois
Bradford Sloat

David Harkins
Richard LaFrance
Gerard LeBlanc
Gloriane Perrier 
Normand Bureau
William Lever
Fern Masse
William Schultz
Harry Angelides
Robert Boucher
Paul Gastonguay
Richard Giroux


Mark Coutts
Richard Gilbert
William Higgins
Paul Slovenski
Peter Slovenski 
Peter Goodrivh
Robert Jordan
Steve Pelletier
Dennis Sweetser
James Taylor
James Choplin
Fred Royer
Marcel Mathiew
Dennis Sweetser
John F White


 click to download a nomination form

A/L Sports Hall of Fame Inductees



Business Service Center at KeyBank Plaza
415 Lisbon Street
PO Box 59
Lewiston ME 04243-0059

Tel: 207.783.2249
Fax: 207.783.4481